WIP

Although I haven’t really written anything substantial in a long while, I’ve never lacked for ideas. I’ve squirreled them away in a folder on my computer, in various notebooks lying around my room, on scraps of paper, whatever was closest when inspiration struck. Still other ideas have been forgotten, because nothing was handy to write with then and there, or because I thought, with great hubris, that I would remember.

Of course, if you keep having ideas without actually writing them, it builds up and suddenly you’re not only struggling to write, but struggling to choose what you most want to write about when you finally get over yourself. For months, I’ve been saying, “Just do it. Just start writing it and worry about everything else later.” I’ve genuinely wanted to follow my own orders, but with more than a hundred ideas to choose from, it was overwhelming. I just didn’t know which idea to go with.

There were a few front runners, but not one obvious winner. None of them were fully developed – far from it – but all had little bits and pieces that were waiting for me to fit them into a larger framework. In the end, I chose the one that had both a beginning and an end. It’s a fantasy, and quite possibly too large in scope to be my first big project after a long hiatus from writing. It’ll likely take years to pull together the storyline I have in mind. I’m actually toying with the idea of starting one of the other stories as well, just to be able to alternate a bit, but we’ll see how it goes first. I don’t want to spread myself to thin.

The working title is The Garden of Princes, but that’s likely to change as soon as I can find something better to call it. I don’t know how I feel about getting into the details yet, partly because I don’t have many details yet, and partly because I’ve always preferred to be a bit tight-lipped about what I’m working on. But in my head, it’s sort of a blend between Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan and A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. (argh!) Martin. I haven’t gotten all that far yet, but chapter one is done, chapter two is starting to take shape, and I’ve had a good time (mostly) when sitting down to write in the mornings. So that bodes well, I guess, but ask me again next week!

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “WIP

  1. Allison W says:

    Good luck with your writing! I always find new projects a little exhilarating (for whatever strange reason…).

  2. Heidi says:

    Thanks! I tend to think they’re a little terrifying, but I guess that’s a part of what makes them exhilarating.

  3. Beverley Lee says:

    Don’t look at the whole picture, break it down into little bits and concentrate on the part you’re writing now. I actually like your working title a lot and the GRRM cross 🙂 Lots of luck with it!

  4. Heidi says:

    That’s what I’m trying to do. I’ve always been an all-or-nothing kind of person though, so it takes some rearranging of old thought patters. Thanks for the good luck wishes though!

  5. Enjoy your new writing project! Let us know how it progresses.

  6. Heidi says:

    Will do! I’m planning on making monthly updates, so that anyone reading the blog can give me a good kick when I need it. =)

Leave a Reply

